Logo

1977 85hp johnson problems starting

waxie1986

i just got a 1977 cheetah and it has an 85 hp johnson. it runs pretty good... once its running. ive put the boat in the water 3 times since i got it 2 days ago. first time i couldnt get it to start. the second it started. warmed up ran good... did some traveling on the lake at full speed. then came in to the dock and ate lunch started up again pretty easy. then changed tanks due to fuel ran out.. and then i started again ...easy..

THEN.. today i went out and again it wouldnt start...

the guy gave me starting instructions. pump bulb...open vent... push key in (choke) turn key... and hold the warm up lever up to start and keep it there until the motor should be warm.... he said it takes usually 45 seconds to start.

now... to me holding a key and turning over a motor that long doesnt seem right? like it would be damaging. any ways since im new to boating and this forum. what should i do? where should i look.. why would it start then not then start then not?

.. just want my boat to run! thanks in advance.

Re: 85 johnson problems starting

You shouldn't crank the engine for more than 15 seconds at a time, and then after that there should be a 2-minute cool down before you make another attempt. The starter motor isn't designed to run for long periods of time; it can heat up and burn the windings out. :eek:

Seems to me like one of two things is happening. Either the pump bulb isn't getting enough fuel into the carbs so the engine can start (thus cranking it for a long time allows the fuel pump to draw it in) or you have low compression. Is the pump bulb hard? Once you fill the carburetor bowls the needle valves should shut off and it should be felt as resistance in the pump bulb. You have to squeeze the bulb repeatedly until this happens; it might take a dozen squeezes at times. If it *never* gets hard, the check valve in the bulb is probably bad, and you'll need to replace it. They're not terribly expensive.