Logo

1983; 85hp Force, loss of power

djrev82

I recently purchased an '83 Bayliner w/a 85hp Force motor. It ran great for the first few days. As I was cruisin' down the lake at about 40mph, it just lost power. After that, I couldnt get it over about 7mph. It still sounded great, no spittin' and sputterin', just didn't want to go. No starting problems, no idle problems, just no power. it moves in reverse just fine. Also when I push forward on the throttle arm it doesn't pick up at all until the arm is about about all the way down. Then it barely has anything.

This is my first boat so I have no experience with marine motors of any kind. I did check the fuel lines (to include the prime bulb, fuel filter, and all connections) to make sure it wasn't sucking air. Also checked the air hose coming into the built-in fuel tank to make sure it wasn't kinked or clogged. But I am far from a mechanic. I have enough knowledge to fix about anything, however trouble-shooting is another story. Could it be an issue with the throttle assembly somewhere? :confused:

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. THX

It could be any number of things.

Was the motor sitting for any length of time before you acquired the rig?

If so you could have -

clogged carbs
a toasted fuel pump diaphram
stuck/broken reed valves

it would idle fine with any of those conditions

you have to assume that the motor was not maintained unless the previous owner provided you with receipts from service

people don't sell anything that's "perfect" and outboards in particular are often held onto for many years un-used until they have no other choice but get rid of them (yes dear) :)

So assume that it needs everything in terms of maintenance.

Start by getting a workshop manual and then do a compression check and confirm spark at all cylinders (so a gauge and a timing light) - no sense chasing a (maybe) fuel issue if she ate a piston.