Logo

Cannot get my 18hp to give power

kildarebrian

Hello All,

I am new to boating and have run into a little issue I hope you could help me with.

I purchased a Tohatsu 18HP Model 18 E2 from a chap who had used it for one season in the sea.

I had it fitted to a boat I use for river fishing and crusing with the kids. I used it 3 times only last summer (2009) and it ran like a dream, lovely engine.

I dusted the boat down and got it ready for a spin this last weekend.

I put it into a large wheelie bin full of water, to test it before headed off to the river, and it started first time. Only running at idle of course. On reflection when i lifted the idle speed adjustment lever the engine revs didnt rise much.

But on the river the engine would not give me any power at all. just enough propulsion to do a circle at the dock. I tried going through the range of movement of the throttle arm but no joy.

I took out the fuel filter and cleaned it.

Took out the plugs, a little sooty and with sme oil traces, but thats normal (i think).

From reading through the many threds here I suspect I am the biggest part of my problem, as I did'nt "overwinter" my engine other than protecting it with a tarpaulin and insulation blanket.

Can any of you suggest a next course of action, that doesent involve hitting myself with a big stick !

I was half wondering if I took it to a local motorbike repair expert, i could have a gumed up carb or something equally fixable.

I was also wondering if the throttle cable was giving me some resistance could it be clogged of siezing up some how.

Any suggestions would be gratefully recieved.

Thanks.

Brian.

I take it this motor has remote control? Sounds as though your throttle cable may be disconnected.