Logo

2002 Evinrude 250hp stalls at low RPMs

tarpon6866

So I have a 250 Ficht (Bombardier) and since late last season it has been having problems at low rpm and sometimes in idle. It happens more, early in the day than it does as the day progresses. Commonly when I am bumping the motor into forward or reverse in the marina to get out of my slip, she stalls (making it sometimes difficult to control her in tight quarters). I have bought some new Iridium plugs that I was hoping would help.

Any other thoughts? Thank you in advance.

Re: 2002 Evinrude 250 stalls at low RPMs

sounds like the carbs either need to be cleaned
or the low speed idle screw needs to be adjusted.

since it just started happening, not like it has always been like that it is most likely your carbs need to be rebuilt.

Having retired in 1991, I'm not familiar with the "Ficht" engine, however the entry by "OMC_10" indicates it is a carbureted engine. I would suggest........

Remove all spark plugs and check the compression. What are the readings?

NOTE.... if the starter bendix gear has a endency to kick out frequently when checking compression, finger tighten all of the spark plugs except the cylinder you're checking.

Check the spark.... Remove all spark plugs, and rig a spark tester whereas you can set a 7/16" gap. The 7/16" gap is important. Do not attempt to use the spark plugs or the inline light testers as both would be a total waste of time. No tester? Build this one.

(Spark Tester - Home Made)
(J. Reeves)