Logo

joe reeves or expert help! 1972 25hp

Joe, a friend told me about how you are a marine motor expert and i seriously need some help. Well, the motor is a 1972 25hp evinrude sportster with less than 20 original hours, long story but i insist it is very true. the motor started right up and looks great,everything really clean. i recently put it in the water for the first time since getting it 3 weeks ago and like i said it ran great, in idle, until i put it in forward. well it idles great in forward but will not go to full throttle at all in forward. maybe just 1/4 throttle. i have cleaned my high speed jet and compression is 105 on both and i just got new j4s gapped at .030. what do i do now? when i put it all back together it started for about 3 seconds shut off and now i cant get it started again. help! i am just getting into this outboard mechanics and could use some advise. thanks bossman!

Last edited:
Re: joe reeves or expert help!

Compression is okay. If you have spark, it would appear that you are overlooking something in the carburetor department.

On that model, the spark should jump a 1/4" gap with a strong blue lightning like flame... a real SNAP! Does it?

(Carburetor Adjustment - Single S/S Adjustable Needle Valve)
(J. Reeves)
Initial setting is: Slow speed = seat gently, then open 1-1/2 turns.

Start engine and set the rpms to where it just stays running. In segments of 1/8 turns, start to turn the S/S needle valve in. Wait a few seconds for the engine to respond. As you turn the valve in, the rpms will increase. Lower the rpms again to where the engine will just stay running.

Eventually you'll hit the point where the engine wants to die out or it will spit back (sounds like a mild backfire). At that point, back out the valve 1/4 turn. Within that 1/4 turn, you'll find the smoothest slow speed setting.