Logo

2006 200 hp BF200 just quit

erk

"I have a 2006 BF200A BAEJ that until recently has been a very reliable engine with no major problems. I had running on plane when it spuddered a little and just quit. I was able to start it back up and it idled briefly and then quit never to run again. I assumed the problem was fuel so I changed all of the filters and the HP fuel pump. This did not work so I swallowed my pride and took it to the Honda dealership. Well, it has been more than a month now and it is still not fixed. They say that the fuel and fuel pressure are good and the spark is good. They want to pull the heads for a major overhaul. The engine has about 600 hours on it but even if it needs a valve job would that explain the way the engine just quit? I am no expert but shouldn't the engine run poorly or at least try to run if the problem is in the heads? Thanks in advance for any advice. -ERK"

"I'm no expert either but

"I'm no expert either but I would ask some questions before I authorized any major engine work.

For one, I would want them to explain how they arrived at this prognosis. Is the engine locked up? Can they show you it is locked?

If not, did they perform a compression test and can they give you the results of that test.

Something doesn't smell right here if you're giving us the whole story. I might be inclined to pay a different shop or mechanic to do another assessment on the engine. You're description of the way it stopped does sound like it is a fuel problem or, that it may have jumped time.

Like I said, I'm no expert and I don't know this engine but I think you are being wise to question a need for an overhaul until you have more info."

"Yeah - this does sound a litt

"Yeah - this does sound a little fishy to me, too.