Logo

Honda 150 best revs to run

pieter_jooste

I am a novice and do not know

I am a novice and do not know what max revs is the best. My 150 has a 15 degree pitch prop on and revs to 6300. If I change to a 17 degree pitch prop my max revs drops to 5600 The boat travels faster but has less power to pull a skier out of the water Please assist

"The "correct prop" fo

"The "correct prop" for any boat engine combination is that prop that allows the engine to run within the specified max rpm operating range specified for your engine for the load on the boat.. Prop "pitch" ( the pitch number refers to the number of inches that the prop would move forward in one revolution if it was rotating in a zero slip medium...not degrees) is like the gear ratio on a car. Low numbers give more pulling power, but less top speed. So you can consider your boat as having a single speed transmission. If you started and ran your car in 4th gear, it would accelerate very slowly but eventually get to top speed. Likewise, if you started in 1st it would accelerate, but the engine would rev a lot and you would not go all that fast.

That said... if you use your boat for skiing most of the time, then you need to pick a prop that allows you to pull a skier up out of the water,, but not over rev the engine. If you use it for cruising, then you might have to sacrifice pulling power to get good cruising speed.

So it all depends on how you use your boat. On my first boat, I used one prop most of the time I was cruising and fishing, but if I was going to take friends out water skiing, I'd change the prop to a lower pitch prop for the day."

Thank you for your note The co

Thank you for your note The content has been taken to heart
My answer to the question On the Honda 150 what is the safe max revs for the engine as I have been told never to go over 6300rpm and to fit a prop that keep the revs at a max of 5700rpm.
Is this advise I received correct ?

"Yes, that advice was correct