Logo

Volvo 2001 cooling problem

"In what would have been our f

"In what would have been our first sail of 2010, while warming up our Volvo 2001 engine in our Beneteau First 265, the overheating alarm sounded for the first time ever. The oil seemed dirty, so I changed it and the filter. The alarm sounded again after the engine had run for about 15 minutes. No cooling water was seen coming out of the hull. I opened the water, before figuring out that I should first close the intake, and learned there was plenty of lake water available. I checked the impeller and it seemed to be in good shape, though I had never seen one before. We turned over the engine to see if the pump shaft rotated and it did not.
I have no diesel experience and would have someone fix it, but there are no marine diesel mechanics here, to my knowledge. I assume that the shaft should rotate whenever the engine is running to circulate cooling water when the thermostat allowed it. Is this correct?
We did not have a hard Winter here and, to my knowledge, we suffered no damage. As overheating points to the cooling system, I thought that I might rebuild the water pump and change the thermostat, to try to cover the likely bases. We would appreciate any thoughts about the cause and how to fix it. Thanks in advance.}"

"I'm not familiar with tha

"I'm not familiar with that engine, but yes, the impeller should turn when the engine is turning. You may get better information here, but I would recommend getting the service manual for your engine if you plan on working on it.

With the service manual, any competent mechanic could diagnose and repair minor problems such as yours.

You don't say where you are, but there are diesel mechanics just about everywhere. Think of diesel cars, diesel trucks, construction equipment, generators, etc. Somebody takes care of them."

It should n't take a diese