Logo

20 HP Mercury 200

"Hi Folks,
I am new to this f

"Hi Folks,
I am new to this forum and fairly new to boating. I recently bought a used 14 ft Jon boat with a 20HP Mercury engine, I have never put it in the water, however I did have the seller connect a water hose to the pickup and it cranked and ran fine impeller was 'peeing' as it should, my question is what would you folks recommend doing to this motor before putting it in the water and trusting it to get me back to the trailer?
Many thanks,
crazyhorse357"

"Put an impeller in. Just cau

"Put an impeller in. Just cause the Tell Tale works with a water hose providing the flow, it won't necessarily pump on its own.

I'd buy a new set of plugs, install them, and keep the others a spares.

Drain and refill the gear case. Look for water coming out and--if so--plan on a resealing job in the near future (and keep the LU out of the water when not using it).

If it idles okay, swell. If not, you might need to rebuild the carb.

Jeff

PS: That's a great little;e motor."

"Totally agree with Jeff.

A

"Totally agree with Jeff.

Any motor that is "new to you", you have to assume that all the routine maint is way out of date, no matter what "some guy" told you.

My experience has been that very very few used motors are sold because they are "perfect".

Think about it, if you had the "perfect motor" would you sell it????"

"Thanks Jeff & Graham,
Yo

"Thanks Jeff & Graham,
You both have been a great help, I will do as advised, and I agree with you Graham, I would never sell the "perfect" motor, I am sure that it is old, however it cranks easily (electric start) and seems to run fine. but prevention is the key to enjoyable boating, not having to deal with it while on the lake, right?
Thanks again,
Frank"

"The guy at the parts store sa