Logo

Engine Identification

S

Skip Grigas

" I bought a 1970 evinrude spo

" I bought a 1970 evinrude sportfisherman

I need to figure out exactly what engine it is so I can purchase parts. I have tried some online sources for casting numbers, but have not found my numbers. I think it is a GM motor. Straight 4 cyclinder. Head takes the flat plugs, rather than the beveled plugs. Any help would be appreciated.

I believe the casting numbers are 3937746 "

"Skip,

Is there a model num

"Skip,

Is there a model number for the engine on the nameplate on the transom bracket?

We have an online list of year and model numbers for pre-1980 Evinrudes here.

Regards,
Andrew"

" Andrew,

Thank-you for qui

" Andrew,

Thank-you for quickly answering. I am new at boat owning. I have found two nameplates with model and serial numbers on it. The plate says to reference these numbers when ordering parts. One is on the back wall of the seating compartment next to the capacity rating, and the other is on the back wall of the engine compartment. Is this the tags I need to be looking at?

Thanks,
Skip "

" Skip,

My mistake.... I sa

" Skip,

My mistake.... I saw 1970 Evinrude Sportfisherman and assumed that you had an outboard motor. I think what you are saying is that it is a 1970 Evinrude boat with a 4 cylinder GM inboard or inboard/outboard engine. Is that correct? If so there should be a nameplate on the engine with a model number and the name of the company that "marinized" the engine. Look for it and post the info here.

We can also supply manuals for most of the Evinrude boats if you need one. I would need the length and model number of the boat (that is probably on one of the tags that you already found).

If in doubt post all the tag info and we can probably figure it out.

Regards,
Andrew "

" Sorry for the confusion.

" Sorry for the confusion.
1970 Evinrude SportFisherman 19' I/O Titled 120hp
Model # 0047010
Serial # WI-35027

Engine Block # 3937746