Logo

I need info on buying a inboard system

T

Troy H

"I am looking for places to wh

"I am looking for places to where I can get a compleat inboard moter and drive. I am new to this. I am building a 18 x 40 houseboat. and dont really know if I want an inboard or out board. not looking for anything fast just a motor to push this barge. but looking for a few places that can sell me a compleate package to where I can just cut a hole in the barge and mount a motor. please e-mail me if you can help. thank you Troy H.
[email protected]"

"Troy,

You really need to d

"Troy,

You really need to detirmine what you need in order to do the job before you can go looking for who can supply the power.

In addition to the power, you have to consider steering and engine controls. It is not just a matter of cutting a hole and installing an engine and drive.

If your vessel really is a barge, you may be best off looking at an outboard arrangement of some kind. The reason I say this is because it will allow you to steer also, and not have to get into the barge to build an engine foundation. The problem is that standard outboards are made to push much lighter vessels. The RPM and the propeller size of a traditional outboard would be all wrong for a heavy, displacement hull like a barge.

There is a company called Harbormaster that makes outboard drives for commercial barges. Probably not suitable for a houseboat barge, but it might give you some ideas.

Inboard diesel power would also be okay, but you then have the challenge of steering, mounting the engine, shafting, the hull penetration/suffing box, access and ventilation of the engine room, etc.

If I were you I would try to find some other vessels similar to yours and see what they have done.

There are some web sites devoted to housboating, but probably focus on traditional houseboats, not converted barges. Try HouseBoating World and HouseBoat Magazine.

Good luck, not an easy project.... let us know how you make out!