Logo

Johnson Outboard

48tony

Regular Contributor
"I am a newbie on this site.

"I am a newbie on this site. I hope one of you OMC, old school cats, can give me some feedback. My local mariners are booksmart, but don't seem to have "hands-on" knowledge.
I have a 1970 60 HP ESLD Johnson. The lower unit is electric shift and is trashed. I purchased a 1969 55 HP ESL off E-bay for short money.
The mariner states that there is two part #'s on the units. Some say it will fit for sure and then I get "I'm not sure if it will fit". What is the case here? Will it fit or not. Both electric shifts and both three cylinders.

My second question: Two replace the lower gearcase seals with a sealkit, to what extent of specialty tools will I need, and I've looked to find the lower unit sealkit and don't seem to have any luck.

If there is anyone out there that can give me some detailed feedback on the process of servicing this unit with the sealkit, please post me an answer.

Thanks,

Tony"

"I have 925A,770CCA Battery. M

"I have 925A,770CCA Battery. My question is will my batterty burn out my starter?"

"NO It does not matter how big

"NO It does not matter how big your battery is
It will not burn out your starter.

As long as it is the same voltage as the starter, ie 12v the motor will pull the amperage it needs.
It all set out in ohm's law.
IF it is too small it will turn slowly as it can not pull the amperage.

IF the motor burnt out the motor was faulty, or you ran it far too long."

shop.evinrude.com has all the

shop.evinrude.com has all the parts books viewable online back to 1968 so you can compare numbers between your two units

"One thing you could Check is

"One thing you could Check is your cables and Solenoid .

Voltage Drop Measurement
Start by using a good digital auto-ranging voltmeter capable of reading 1/10th of a volt. The use of an auto-ranging
meter will allow for more accurate testing without damaging the meter due to an incorrect range setting.