Logo

99 HP access to oil filter

beachflies

"The first time I changed the

"The first time I changed the oil filter on my 9.9, half of the aluminum(!) screws -- securing the cover on the lower right side of the motor -- were so tight that I tore up the screw heads and had to remove them with an easy-out.
Questions:
Is this an aberration?
Is there anything wrong with replacing them with stainless steel fasteners with a tiny dab of Never-Seize.

Thanks in advance for wisdom."

"Hi John,
I work on many of t

"Hi John,
I work on many of the smaller Honda engines and I love their ruggedness and the fact that they are one of the best made on the market. For the most, part all I have to say is that they are built with nothing but the best materials and craftsmanship and are worth the extra money they cost. As a consumer, Honda is the outboard I would buy.

But, as a mechanic, I have a few pet peeves when it comes to how they did some things and those cover screws are at the top of my list. I ALWAYS have my impact driver out to take the covers off. I don't always need it but I've learned, like you, to have it handy. If you use an impact driver on the phillips head screws, they usually come out easy. Proper impact driver "technique" and good quality #2 tips are a must here.

Honda sells a replacement (aluminum alloy) screw with a Allen head hex drive that works much better at coming off and doesn't fall in the water if you need to go in there "wet" which I try not to do anyway. You do need to carry the "extra" tool though. I like my old two stroke Merc that, "wham-bam", the the engine is totally accessable in about 3.4 seconds.

I think you have a good idea in using stainless and anti sieze. I don't see why not.

Now, don't get me started about the plastic carburator muffler housings with the molded in brass nuts!!! Hint: start spraying yours now with Aero Kroil or PB Blaster every chance you get."

"<font face=""arial,helvet