Logo

In Escrow for an 86 Searay with Mercruisers

swellraiser

"Hi to all I am new to the for

"Hi to all I am new to the forum.

I'll get to it quick:

Engine type: 2 260 Mercruisers with the Alpha One.

1- Starboard engine over heats at idle, at 1100RPM temp maintains 145 Degrees. In revers it shoots up quick. In idle temp rises slowly.

2- Port Engine has a drip hitting the fan belt, maybe a little oil, I am thinking the water pump has a broken seal.

3- Both engines the hoses have some crunch to them when you squeeze them.

Okay now - whats you suggest fix? These engines only have 700 hours on them.

I am having a survey done this week and now I am thinking a mechanic survey as well."

"1. Replace BOTH impellers in

"1. Replace BOTH impellers in the outdrives ( water pump kits and base kits)

2. Replace engine water pump with new one not rebuilt (marine only)

3. What hoses specifically? They last a long time unless they have seen a lot of salt water.......

4. Have both outdrives serviced, new gear lube and pressurecheck for possible seal leaks.
5. outdrives removed and have gimbal bearings checked.
6. gimbal rings. Need to be checked for side to side slop, ( steering pin to gimbal ring wear)
7. enjoy it and have fun......."

"Thanks KG,

<font size=""-2

"Thanks KG,

<font size=""-2"">3. What hoses specifically? They last a long time unless they have seen a lot of salt water.......</font>

Those would be the one coming up from the risers. And yes this is in Salt Water.}"

"If they are not supple and se

"If they are not supple and semi soft do not even waiste time, replace them. Also look at the hose that supplied the water to the thermostat housing
It may be hard as well, there will be a power steering cooler in line with that hose.

Also check very carefully the ujoint bellows and shift cable boots!!!!!!!"

I am not sure if a Re-power ha

I am not sure if a Re-power has been done?