Logo

Advice needed on 1988 OMC 50L replacement

hometowndog

"I have a very clean 1988 Bayl

"I have a very clean 1988 Bayliner 19.5 foot Bowrider with a OMC 5.0L and OMC Cobra stern drive. The motor has a cracked block, and maybe possible damage to the exhaust manifolds due to improper winterizing. Should I get a long-block replacement and move my existing parts over or should I upgrade to a 5.7L or 7.5L. If I upgrade, will the outdrive need to be replaced?
I am a good mechanic, but this is my first experience with marine applications. It appears from internet browsing that the 5.0L is normally replaced with the 5.7L. Will most of my parts transfer to this engine?
Thanks."

Is it a Chevy 5.0 or a Ford?

Is it a Chevy 5.0 or a Ford? Very expensive to switch everything over--even more so with a 7.5 liter.

A long block is usually hte best way to go.

Jeff

"It is a Chevy. Not sure I und

"It is a Chevy. Not sure I understand your response. Are you saying it is expensive to switch everything over to a 5.7L because the parts are not interchangeable or because of labor? What about the outdrive, is my current outdrive compatible with a 5.7 or 7.5 engine?
Thanks."

"A "5.7" is a Chevy. A

"A "5.7" is a Chevy. A 5.8 liter is a Ford 351. Most things will interchange between a Ford 5.0 and 5.8, but it's a different engine in many ways. The "7.5" (460) is an entirely different motor.

Any Ford experts out there to offer him some advice?

Jeff"

"Thanks Jeff. Here is what Mar

"Thanks Jeff. Here is what Marine Engines.com & Michigan Motorz says about their NEW 2006 GM 5.7L base marine engine, standard rotation: "Direct replacement for 1987 thru 1995 305 ci (5.0L), 350 ci (5.7L) Mercruiser, Volvo Penta, OMC, Indmar, etc..." So does this mean the parts needed to complete this base engine, such as the intake manifold, can be taken from my 1988 OMC (Chevy)305ci ? I would prefer to use the 5.7L as a replacement if possible.
Thanks."

"Most everything will switch o