Logo

Trim motor goes up but not down

puff214

"Hi
Let me start by saying I

"Hi
Let me start by saying I am not a mechanic in any sense of the word. I buy boats with minor problems get the parts for cheap and fix it.

I have a boat with a Merccruiser 4.3L V6. The trim motor for frozen when I bought it so the motor would not raise or lower. Luckily it was all the way down so I could use it all summer. I took the trim motor apart and saw that the whole thing was locked solid. I bought a whole new motor and resevoir, replaced the three wires (blue, green & black) to the same place that they were previously connected to and the motor only goes up and does not go down. Now my motor is stuck up. It doesn't even make a noise when I press it to go down but when I press it to go up it does. I know the motor is good, the wires were connected like the original so I have no idea what could be wrong? Could the switch itself be bad?

Any help would be really appreciated because I want to sell this boat and that is really a big road block for me doing so.

Thanks"

"Check your switches and the s

"Check your switches and the selonoid if it has them.

It probally a bad switch, selonoid or a connection."

Make sure the plug to the trim

Make sure the plug to the trim assy. is not corroded and is making contact. Old ones have a habit of vibrating loose while they look like they are connected. No change? Pull the cover off of the trim switches in the shifter handle. Look for a broken wire at the cable connector.
Guy

"You didn't say what king

"You didn't say what king of drive, but there's a switch inside the drive unit. As a temporary fix, you can jump the switch at the pump, but keep an eye on your trim level."

"Thanks,

There are two sole

"Thanks,