Logo

1994 Mercruiser 350 starter binds sometimes grinds upon engagement

benb

"Hello. I am new to these mess

"Hello. I am new to these message boards and I have a problem

I have already searched through some messages here trying to find more info on shimming starters for the GM Merc 8 cylinder engines, but i cant really find much on the subject..

.Thus, I wanted to post my problem here.

First, the boat is in storage as of today because its just going to get colder and colder from here on out.. Its a rather moot point to post here granted I can no longer have easy access to the engine compartment, however, I am absolutely perplexed at the behavior of the starter and can use some tips here later on if perhaps there is a rogue warm day to peel the cover back and mess with it some more.

Ultimately, this boat.. a monterey 225 cuddy? I think, is my dads and it has sat fermenting under a bad boat cover for about 5 years.

Two months ago I decided to see if there was still some boat left that hadnt rusted or rotted away and removed the cover.. aside from some rotten seat wood and extensive mold/mildew damage the interior seemed ok., but the starter was dead.

I took the starter to a Auto Electric shop to find it to be completely corroded, unusable as a core, and a new one would cost $300+

A week later I took it to another auto electric shop and got a reman gear reduction starter for $75, as he took my corroded one as a core.

I installed this starter, shimless as the original one was, and cranked slow at first (possibly due to engine rust) then faster, then faster, then the engine fired up.--->> absolutely NO starter trouble or wered sounds.

I used the starter a few more occasions to run the engine and verify things were working ok on it.. then i let it sit for a few days or so...