Logo

50L EFI Winterize

lnkboat

99 Larson 206LXi 5.0L EFI Alph

99 Larson 206LXi 5.0L EFI Alpha1 I am new to this boat. The block drain plug on the port side turned out to be a brass valve that was very stiff. I can find no reference to this in any manual. Is this unique to Larson? Any advantage to keeping it? Is there a trick or tool to getting the drain plug removed from the bottom of the fuel cooler? I ended up breaking the ears off and settled for removing the hose. Have learned a great deal from this forum....Thank you!

Is the fuel cooler plug blue p

Is the fuel cooler plug blue plastic? It was put in too tight. Only needs to be finger tight. The "O" ring seals the opening. Same for the brass block drain being finger tight. I place a dab of 2-4-C grease on them when I replace them.

"The fuel cooler plug is blue

"The fuel cooler plug is blue plastic. On my boat it's in a very hard place to reach, and would not break loose by hand. I tried to reach up with a pair of pliers to break it loose and thats when I broke the ears off. Perhaps put in too tight or never removed before....Some sort of slotted tool perhaps on the end of a rachet would be nice to reach these. This boat was marina winterized every year before I got it and I wonder if they ran it through a tank of antifreeze and called it good. The brass valve is an actual lever type valve threaded into a bushing on the block.