Logo

Thunderbolt 1V troubleshooting

english_man_in_norway

Contributing Member
"Having followed proceedures i

"Having followed proceedures in the flowchart,I arrived at the spark test gap where you strike a ground with the green/white from the distributor whilst watching for a spark from the coil wire,surely the green/white wire needs voltage to cause a reaction? Just that I checked it with a meter & got zero? Does anyone know any differant checks I can do other than this method?"

So did you do the test or not?

So did you do the test or not?

Why would a mechanical guy think you need voltage to create a spark? What is needed is a change in the state of the current flow; try the test like the factory service procedure states.

Continue w/the same post pleas

Continue w/the same post please. Make sure the ground is bare metal. By striking the ground w/the bare wire you are causing the coil to fire via the amplifier if the amp. is good.

"Yeh I'm a Mechanical guy

"Yeh I'm a Mechanical guy 'welding',fabricating,e.t.c,not an 'electrical' guy.
I completed the test with no spark from 2 coils so as usual,its the expensive part that needs replaced the amplifier. Thanks Guy."

"That's a bummmer.

Some

"That's a bummmer.

Some of those amplifiers are hard to find, let alone expensive. When mine go belly up, I'm seriously considering swapping in Delco EST systems. (whole new ignition system for about the same $$.)"

Bt. Dr.:

Back in the 70&#39

Bt. Dr.:

Back in the 70's I must have filed hundreds of contact points while working on pinball machines and other games. I would watch the stacks of contact points in the dark while the game was played. That would allow me to see the ones that were burning when they would flash brightly. Usually the cause was a cold/loose solder joint. I'd file the points and resolder the wires and that would fix them. Nothing like an electrical part that you can actually see working.