Logo

Help with my broken Honda 2 HP BF2D

steven_b

"I am a Newbie here and hope t

"I am a Newbie here and hope that someone may help me out.

My Honda, a dinghy motor, launched itself off of the transom while running (loose transom mount) and broke the piston connecting rod.

I have been able, without a repair manual, to remove the flywheel and cylinder cover. So I can now see the broken connecting rod and do not see any more damage.

I am not sure, however, how to remove the crankshaft in order to get at the piston.

I also do not know how to lower the plastic engine cover so as to unscrew the valve cover and see if they are working. Should I assume they are OK?

Can anyone help me with the above? Is the Seloc repair manual good or should I try the Honda official manual?

ANY help will be much appreciated!

Thanks

Steven"

"I would get the Honda officia

"I would get the Honda official manual. Although even it is not the greatest for what you want to do, it should provide a lot of help.

Believe it or not, the lower plastic engine does not get lowered. You have to remove the engine just to inspect/adjust valve clearances.

You will have to split the engine case to ge the crankshaft out. Which also means you have to remove the engine.

The removal is not that hard, just has several steps. Having the manual really helps.

I haven't had mine totally apart like what you are doing, but have had the engine off, adjusted valves and replace the centrigal clutch, etc.

I have one at work that I will be tearing down this winter for a customer. So I would be interested in your progress.

Good luck!"

"Mike, thanks for your reply.

"Mike, thanks for your reply.

How did you get the engine off?

I have split the case and can remove the crank part of the broken connecting rod but cannot figure out how to get the crank off!

Any ideas? Call me if you have the time - 401-480-9779

Thanks!

Steven"

"There are four bolts under th