Logo

Twin Chrysler inboards will not go over 3300RPM

dkishmar

1978 Marinette has twin 440&#3

1978 Marinette has twin 440's. Engines were probably 1976+. They have 2000 hours but were rebuilt at 1200 hours. I have not been able to get over 3300 RPM and no more than 24 MPH. When the boat was new it would get 4200 RPM and run at 31-33 MPH. Original props are on the boat (19x23's). Using RJ14YC withh 8mm wires. Fuel pumps are original and gas filters have been changed. Hsd the carbs reguilt 2 years ago. Primaries and secondaries all seem to be working fine. I have been fighting this issue for 4 years now and getting very frustrated.

"Do those dists have the advan

"Do those dists have the advance springs in them if so maybe they need lubed and worked loose to work proper again....Wow 33mph youd blow by me@only 15knots...Id hate to fuel those babys.."

"It sounds like an overly-simp

"It sounds like an overly-simplified possibility but.....do you get your fuel from the same marina and, if so, do you know when/if they introduced ethanol?

While it's doubtful that "bad" gas alone that would cause poor enough combustion to starve you of 1,000 rpms, the amount of time you've been fighting this (4-years) coincides with the time when ethanol started being heavily introduced. It's only been within the past couple of years that we've started to get a grip on the havoc that ethanol is wreaking on engines (especially those of us who also play in the 2-stroke powersports world).

Not sure if you have a metal gas tank and/or old copper lines on that boat but, these are things that will be completely demolished by ethanol.....especially if the ethanol was, at some point, mixed with non-ethanol gas without advanced treatment/prep. Ethanol is also proving to go bad much quicker once in the tank.