Logo

Problem getting my boat to full speed

"Got a 21 ft glasstron with an

"Got a 21 ft glasstron with an inboard, purchased it last year and could get to just over 40mph.
Just got it out for the first time this year and was fine up to about 30mph but if i pushed it any harder the engine would speed up but the boat would slow way down, almost seemed like the the prop was coming out of the water. Then i would have to slow the throttle down before i could get it to take off again.
I thought it was due to the engine mount trolling motor that i had just put on.
But i also noticed a ring that goes around the end of the prop (which a mechanic had cracked this winter) had fallen off, could this be the problem.
Im sure there is a simple explination to my problem but i am pretty new to boating any advice would be appreciated."

"well I think I read the ring

"well I think I read the ring helps with prop blow out, but could be the prop and/or prop hub is slipping, just hope for you its not ehe Coupler.

Have you ever hit anything ?"

"No the bottom end was just re

"No the bottom end was just redone this spring, and the ring fell off the first time i used it after getting it back. The ring was on last summer and i never had the problem.
Could you exlain what prop blow out is."

Would a coupler slip or just g

Would a coupler slip or just go out completly? I don't smell anything which i think i would if the coupler was slipping. It seems like the the prop keeps spinning but the boat just slows

"Another downside of raising t