Logo

Honda 130hp not reving

daneryden

hey guys have a 20ft. pontoon

hey guys have a 20ft. pontoon boat with a 130hp honda and its only reving 4000rpm and they say it should rev 5500rpm i lifted the motor up trimed and still nothing put a 11pitch prop and still 4000rpm any suggestions thanks

"I am not a mechanic.. But ha

"I am not a mechanic.. But had the same problem with my Honda 90BF. It was the carbs. the engine wasn't getting enough fuel. I drained the float bowls, and I was able to get running correctly using a combination of Marine Stabil and Merc. Quickleen. Now, I use this stough in every tank. If that doesnt work maybe a complete tear down of the carbs is in order. Should always check to make sure you have compression and spark."

"there are many things that co

"there are many things that could be the problem.

What prop did you have on before the change to 11 pitch? A 13 pitch should get you about 5600 - 5700 rpm.

Has this motor run at a higher rpm before?

If it has, have you recently put different fuel in it than in the past?

What brand tach and where is it set? It could be the wrong setting or the tach could be bad. I assume you tapped on the tach to see if it will go higher. I have seen them get stuck.

On the other hand, you may be only running on three cylinders. How long has it been since the spark plugs were changed. Only use NGK ZFR7F plugs.

While idling, pull one spark plug wire off at a time and see if there is any effect on the running. If the motor faulters when the wire is pulled, that cylinder is firing. If nothing changes, that cylinder has an issue. If you hear sparking, spark is probably ok. Then it is a clogged injector.

Drain the vapor separator into a glass jar to see what the fuel looks like.

What year is the motor? what is the serial number? I will check to see what updates if any have been done to it.

Have the high pressure and low pressure fuel filters been changed recently? Ever? Could be a blockage there."