PDA

View Full Version : 45hp chrysler stalling problem

meatloafsandwich
06-22-2009, 12:59 PM
"Hello all, Well this is my first time posting here, although not the first time I was able to get help from these forums. Here is my issue: I have a 1978 45hp Chrysler (model457h8j) she starts on the first pull every time (starter is shot) and will throttle up in warm up with no prob.....then you throw it in gear... it will idle in gear just fine but as soon as you give it gas, it dies.. then will fire right back up, and the cycle start again. Any help would be greatly appreciated, I know little about boats but those fish aren't gonna wait too much longer!"

william_m
06-23-2009, 07:56 PM
"The main jet in the carb is plugged up. This carb is as tough to work on as a tin can with a hole in the bottom. You may have to cut the middle out of a small screwdriver to get the emulsion jet out, but thats all. They did have a thin seal washer inside the float bowl that made the main jet work, so watch for it."

gkerley
06-24-2009, 05:33 PM
I was just given a 16' aluminum boat with a Chrysler Model 45 on it. Is there some kind of secret to removing the engine housing? I cannot find a latch or release anywhere. And how do you determine the year model. Help

meatloafsandwich
06-25-2009, 07:42 AM
"hey Guy, if you feel under the front of the motor (you cannot see it) right above the steering cables, you will feel a lever that you just slide over. once you get the cover off, there should be a metal tag rivited to the bottom of the engine housing. when you have the hood off and are looking at the front of the motor you should see it. mine is a 1978 and that is from MY experience. if yours is much different in year, the tag location may be different. I will see if I can find the chart I used to decode my number and post it later, if not search these forums."

gkerley
06-25-2009, 12:22 PM