Logo

Port engine sounds like itbs running on 7 cylinders

warrenthepilot

"Hi everyone. This is my first

"Hi everyone. This is my first try at this forum....I'm not a mechanic, but I think I'm a pretty good "screw turner", with "passable" analytical skills.

My 1983 Carver Riviera has twin 305/220 Crusaders. Both engines have their individual 75 gallon fuel tanks, but I can cross feed as necessary to balance the load. Both engines are original with 1200 hours on each.

Here's the problem.
After launching for the season port engine has been running very rough. Won't idle below 1000rpm. Exhaust reaks of gas, and a nice pool of what appears to be unburned (read wasted) fuel forms a 10 foot diameter slick on the surface after a mear 3-4 minute run-up.

Carb (stock Rochester) and stock distributor were rebuilt in fall of 2007, but only about 5 hours on them since,as boat sat at the dock most of 2008 due to family commitments.

Since I dock the boat "port side out", the port fuel tank is the harder one to refill,so I tend to use that tank as a reserve for most situations. Consequently the fuel in the port tank probable dates back to spring of 08, whereas starboard tank was a fresh fillup prior to last October's haulout. Stabilizer was added to both tanks at haulout.

When I started the engines this season, each was fed from their respective individual fuel tanks. At first I thought the problem was stale fuel,or water in the fuel, so after the first couple of runups, I switched to the newer fuel in the starboard tank since the starboard engine was running just fine. After the switch, the engine seemed a bit smoother , but non the less still quite rough at 1200rpm, and then complete stall at anything less than 1000 rpm.

Here's the basic stuff I've done so far: