Logo

LONG Cannot start Tohatsu 140A

mobinakhtar

"My name is Moby and I own a 8

"My name is Moby and I own a 85 Bayliner Capri with a 1996 tohatsu 140A. I am brand new to boats and this is my first outboard motor. I took the boat out before Ike hit last year and it used to start right up with flick of a key. Then Ike hit Houston and my boat got flooded while parked at my bay lot from rain and canal water (It was tied well to a tree). I brought her home, cleaned well. Interior is trash but motor seems clean. I replaced the battery (boat has not been turned on in at least 8 months) and turn the key – electronics come on (multi info meter shows oil ok, lower unit oil light blinks (so it needs lower unit oil), when I turn the key – I hear a click at the starter relay and a buzzer beeps in the throttle control box but no starter move or nothing.

I noticed a kill switch (and I really don’t remember putting the plastic tether in it ever but I got one out of my jetski and put it in – still same thing.) buzzer beeps, relay clicks and engine does not turn.

Is this motor ruined?Is there a way to verify that the engine is OK? How can I turn it? I took spark plugs out – no water – everything is dry.

By the way after the flooding, I let the boat sit for at least 4-6 months before even attempting to do anything so it could dry out comletely.

Can i jump starter so I can see if engine is OK. I know for sure gas is bad by now so I will use a gas can - I just need to know if engine will turn.

Is it not starting because lower oil is low?

Sorry for so many questions but Its been two months I have been trying different things and now am really frustrated. Please help.

Boats interior is ruined. If engine comes to life – I will rebuild the boat interior as the hull is solid! and boat still looks good.

thnaks"

"Change the oil & try agai