Logo

Power trim trouble

"I'm not too experienced w

"I'm not too experienced with the power trim systems, so I am hoping someone can help. I noticed a couple weeks ago that when trying to lift my pre-alpha out drive, I am getting a "click". the down trim always works, but the up is getting worse each time I take the boat out. Last night I had to flip the switch about 10 times before the pump kicked in. I checked all the wires to and from the pump for corrosion or loose connections but found none. even the wires going to the trim controls are good. what am I looking for?"

"Jeff:
Do you have a toggle

"Jeff:
Do you have a toggle up/down trim switch and a trailer button on the shifter? If yes, and the O/D goes up without any problem with the trailer switch, then the toggle switch is failing or the wire has come loose in the handle coupling. Pull the handle cover off and look inside the black plastic wire holder. You'll see 4 wires on each side with a coupling pin they plug into. Look for the loose wire.

The up toggle and trailer switch use the same relay, but the trailer switch bypasses the limit switch. The 8 ga. red wire to the relay is the 12 Volt power source for the pump. The opposing relay post is the wire to the pump.

There should be 12+ volts on both sides of the relay posts when the switch is toggled up or down. Note that one of the small terminals on the relay is from the toggle switch and the other is a ground wire to turn the relay on.
If the relay has 12+ volts on only one side when activated, the up relay is failing.

Note: some systems use one relay for up/down and modern types use two relays, 1 up & 1 down.

You can test circuit wiring by using a jumper wire from the 12 volt + battery terminal to the small + terminal on each relay (not the black wire). If the O/D moves up/down without any stuttering, the problem is not the relays but the control switches and or wiring between them and the relays."

"Both the trailering switch an