Logo

23 liter omc running rough

pa_boater

"Hello,

I am new to I/O&#

"Hello,

I am new to I/O's and have lots of questions so any input is apreciated. I have a manual in the mail but would like to get out this weekend. I just bought an 88 bayliner with a 2.3 liter omc. Before buying a local mechanic (no affiation to this boat) replaced the shift interupt modual and said that everything else was fine, lake tested for 30 min, no problems, and ok'ed to buy it. he said it probably had 500 hours or less. Last weekend after 15 min of boating stopped to swim, later, it would not start easily. When running, seemed to die, or pause simular to when my ford pickup had a loose plug wire, sometimes quit all together. I eventually got it running and stopped at a marina to dodge a thunder storm. Found a new kill switch and replaced the old one. This seemed to fix it, , It was hard to start the first time but ran well for the rest of the day.

So Questions,

1. What else should I check that could be causing this?

1.5 What is the recomended Idol RPM?

2. I ordered new plugs, wires, and a tune up kit, do I need to re-adjust the timing when installing this or can I just match the new parts up to the old parts?

3. Where is the water seperator and how do I check it? (Mechanic said gas was fine, used tester)And I added 1/2 tank new gas.

4. Where is the flame arrestor and what does it look like? I would like to clean it as suggested in other posts.

5. this is a 17 foot bayliner capri, what kind of top speed should I be getting? My speedo says 32 but this feels low. Anyone have this boat? Can the speedo go bad/be pluged and how would I check this?

6. Is it ok to run WOT? I am hitting 5500 rpm on the top end (gauge shows redline at 6000) and don't want to damage anything.

Thanks for the help,

Joe"

"1 Check your module ESA to e