Logo

2009 Tohatsu 40 TLDI dead

irish1979

Recently purchased new 40 hp t

Recently purchased new 40 hp tldi engine.I'm not a mechanic and know only a reasonable amount about outboards(older type 2 strokes) so i'll try to explain problem as simply as I can.
Engine ran fine for about first 8 hours. Broke it in nice and slow etc...went through all the procedures. Last weekend noticed something amiss when running engine...sounded a bit like a bearing going in a car engine...rattling noise. My hunch proved to be correct as yesterday the engine shut down when motoring at about 3/4 trottle...started again straight away but sounded terrible....and eventually got home on the 4 hp auxiallary. Called dealer...he said plugs may be fouled have a brief look at them and drop engine in for 10 hour service if you can next week...looked at plugs...ok...engine appeared to run perfectly again this evening and went for a spin around bay but when opened up on way home engine completly shut down again. Got home on auxillary.This time it turns over but won't start at all....dead
Had experienced outboard mechanic have a brief look at it down the marina...no problem with fuel up as far as filter...full of oil..all looks good etc. Bit of a mystery...engine sounds like a bag of spanners inside a tin can tonite when turned over..serious problems i'd say.
Pretty disgusted after forking out €6000. For an engine that everybody on the net raves on about reliability this is a joke after less than 10 hours light use. Regretting not getting evinrude e-tec now...but dealer was a good distance away from me. They better have a good explanation for me when I bring it in next week or i'm finished with Tohatsu TLDI's for good.
I should add when restarted engine on both occasions it ran roughly but then cut out when put in gear...left to cool off for a few hours it seems to work again...don't know if this adds anything to solve the problem but maybe someone could have a stab at whats happened