Logo

High Profile Stringer drive water pump replacment

todd_b

"Hi there another newbie here

"Hi there another newbie here I thought I read here somewere that you could replace the water pump by dropping the lower unit off the top at one point. But I've sense came across a thread saying you have to remove the whole drive. I guess thats all well and good if I have to. Thats what the manuel tells me but I wonder if theres some short cuts. And would you always rebuild the lower pick up housing thinga majig or just start with the impeller. Thanks guys I've sure been glad to find this board, learned a lot already.
thumbs_up.gif
oh ya and how crusal is it to replace worn ball gears can I put it off for awhile if theres enough meet to hold up for now? Thanks again! T"

Hi Todd

I am sure you can c

Hi Todd

I am sure you can change the water pump with out taking the whole drive off I did. I have a 1985 3.0 OMC. As for the ball gears Thats your call We can't see how bad they are you can.

Frank

Frank
I have been mulling ove

Frank
I have been mulling over the same question about changing the water pump in my 1970 Johnson Seasport wth the 155 hp V-6.
Is it because I have the electric shift that would prevent me from dropping the lower unit without pulling the whole outdrive?
Thanks
Ted

"can do it on the boat, but yo

"can do it on the boat, but you'll just kinda be working upside down. no biggie though. I might try it that way next time. Don't want to stress my shift cable any more than I have to."

"If you put the drive about at

"If you put the drive about at 45 deg. You will not stress the cable. And it is fun working upside down.
crazy.gif
"

"HY & Frank,
I am new to

"HY & Frank,
I am new to this so bear with me please.
Is the shift cable you are refering to the same as the two electric shift wires for F/R that go thru the transom and into the outdrive?

Thanks
Ted"

"Not sure, but this looks like