Logo

MerCruiser parts vrs aftermarket parts

srdancer90

Regular Contributor
"OK, It is time to do the wate

"OK, It is time to do the water pumps on my alpha 1 gen 1 drives. I have always used Siera water pump kits.I was speaking to a mercruiser tech and his comment is that Mercruiser parts are superior to the after market distributers. GLM, Siera etc. I was told by him that he saw many ater market water pumps fail while the MerCruiser pumps last the duration.What is/are your oponion(s) on this?"

"[b]"What is/are your opon

""What is/are your oponion(s) on this?"

Ayuh,...

You were talking to the Fox guarding the Hen house.....

I change mine every other year or so,+ Never had 1 fall apart...
I use Sierra from Napa..."

"I have been using alpha drive

"I have been using alpha drives since 1984. I rebuild and repair my own for years. Since 1992 I have been running a 500 hp stroker so the drive is stressed but the 22' low profile hull with a Alpha SS drive is light and that helps it live if you play by the rules even at 6200 rpm. In a stock application, I have found that aftermarket parts seem to be ok. But also I have found out that in higher torque conditions,the Mercruiser parts are superior especially gears and shafts.Use name brand bearings such as Timken, not korean or japanese, the aftermarket seals, o-rings seem to work fine. I never use anything but Mercruiser when it comes to gears and shafts. I learned my lesson years ago trying to save a buck. Also use mercruiser hp synthetic gear oil even in stock drives. The oil temp can get over 300 degrees in the top case even in a stock application. A good drive shower also can lower oil temps by 35-55 degrees in the top case which is a big help to the life of the top gears and bearings. Just a little info that I have lived and learned."

"I do have some relatively fre