Logo

83 sunrunner 470

txny13

Regular Contributor
as i said last dec i got this

as i said last dec i got this boat from conn for $204.00 a 470 they said it does not have any spark any thoughs on this as sooner or later it will stop snowing here in buffalo

"no not yet just thinking whil

"no not yet just thinking while its still a block of ice, what my first move might be just looking forward to getting into it its my first nice boat as my other ones were all volvo trihulls from the 60s"

"It probably has points igniti

"It probably has points ignition which I would change to Pertronics electronic ignition first. Coil bad or coil wire is shot. Resistor wire bad.
http://www.vintageperformance.com/retrorockets/mercruis.htm
snow.gif
"

"Hello everyone im new to this

"Hello everyone im new to this and boating as well. but mid summer i bought a 1984 cobia sportster for 3grand and it is a jewl looks like it was built and put in storage and never used.but as the winter months hit i had to clean and winterize and put in storage but i cant help but to wonder everyday if i did the right things when i winterized it its a 470 mercruiser and the fella that i bought it from told me the only thing he ever did was taken the cap off of the heat exchanger and removed the battery. well i did that plus a few other things like check the atifreeze in the motor,put a small amount of antifreeze in the hull and worked it back and forth took the plugs out and sprayed fogging oil in the cylinders and carb also i armoralled the vynels and removed the prop is this enough or have i missed something thanks steve"

""put a small amount of an

""put a small amount of antifreeze in the hull" Why?

Change the egine oil & filter? Change the OD oil? Change fuel filters and add fuel preservative to tank? Lube OD zerk fittings?
uhoh.gif
snow.gif
"

"Steven...

1st you need to

"Steven...