Logo

2005 50 mpi bravo 3 drive computer question

rsigillito

"I am new to sterndrives and t

"I am new to sterndrives and to this forum. I always had smaller boats with outboards before. I appreciate any help you can give me.

I am repowering a 24 ft aluminum flat bottom shrimp boat to use for leisure fishing. It previously had an old early 1970's era 351 windsor mercruiser engine; drive was long gone.

I found a 2005 5.0 mpi that a person had (partially)installed in a four winns with an old m/r drive that he said he ran once but the drive was knocking so he never put it back in the water, engine was never broken in. I don't think the engine was ever properly installed (merc support line rep said a 2005 5.0 MPI could not be run with an old MR drive)

I also found a 2004 bravo 3 (2.2 ratio) that was on a boat that the owner blew his 5.7 ltr engine. The drive had such little use that the paper barcode/price stickers are still on it. I pulled the drive (with props), gimbal housing, inside transom mount/ steering components (except the hydraulic pump which was already taken) off of the boat over the weekend.

I called mercruiser support today to get some information about drive compatability, & what I would need to get started. The rep told me I would need to buy a new computer for the engine that would be compatible with the bravo drive, and that the engine would need "a laundry list of parts" to make it compatable.