Logo

Hard to start when hot

chris17744

Contributing Member
"Hi Guys, I am very new to thi

"Hi Guys, I am very new to this forum, and this problem may have been addressed before. I have just completed a complete restoration of a Sea Ray Weekender, could be the only one in Australia. It is powered by a Mercruiser 5.7 Bravo2 fitted with a 4 bbl Weber / Carter carb. The problem is, it is hard to start when hot. Cold, it starts first pot up. If I shut down after a run and re-start immediately, there is no problem, but if she sits for 10 / 15 min, it is almost impossible to get started but will fire at WOT but hard to keep running. I have lowered the float levels 1/8 inch but no difference. Anyone know the solution to this one ??
Chris, Hervey Bay, Australia."

"Hi Barry, No, the choke is no

"Hi Barry, No, the choke is not sticking, we use little choke here in the tropics. The vacuum relay opens the choke fully.
Chris."

"Chris...

It sounds like a

"Chris...

It sounds like a fuel delivery problem. If the choke is open all the way, maybe it shouldn't be?
Is the fuel line sitting too close to something really really hot and boiling itself dry while it sits there for 10 - 15 mins?
You said that you adjusted the float levels, but what shape is the needle/seat in. Are they leaking and the fuel is expanding while hot and spilling out into the manifold only to evaporate? Then when you go to start there is nothing there to fire. The fuel pump has to pump awhile to to fill that carb back up.
Vapour lock before the pump, or, if the line between the pump and tank empties back into the tank while sitting, it takes along time for the pump to prime itself?

Wrench"

"Ayuh,...

Those carbs are K

"Ayuh,...

Those carbs are Known to leak, Internally....

That's how you get the Flooded condition on restarts....
I've been told the Fix, but don't remember the procedure at this time...
I'll see if I can refind the Answer..."

"Chris Dauth
You may want to

"Chris Dauth