Logo

Black substabce in water

maxtor

Contributing Member
"This may sound like a dumb qu

"This may sound like a dumb question but since I am new to owning an I/O, I need to ask. I noticed today, that my boat, (which has a 120HP Mercruiser) when it is going slow or at idle, leaves a black substance behind it in the water. Now, I'd have to guess that it's oil but my question would be if this is normal? It also seems to smoke a tiny bit at idle. I just want to make sure if this is normal things to see when running these or if something is wrong again...

Thank you again
"

Check the choke. Sounds as if

Check the choke. Sounds as if it is running rich. The black is from the exhuast. It should not be oil. If it is oil you had better find out where it came from. Boats do not leak oil if all seals are good.

"Okay, oil might not have been

"Okay, oil might not have been an accurate guess ;)

When you say "check the choke", what am I looking for? If running rich, how is this corrected?

Thanks for the reply Not Me!!"

"Lee-
How old is your boat?

"Lee-
How old is your boat? I have a 76 imperial with a 120hp, with an automatic choke. It is round, and has an air line coming from the maifold. on it there is a flat slot in the center, which can be turned to adjust the rich/lean running. start there. the idea of the auto choke is to keep the choke closed when the motor is cold, and as warm air from the manifold heats the auto choke it opens the choke further.
Good luck
Jeff"

Mine's an '85 and I be

Mine's an '85 and I believe I remember seeing a choke similar to what you described. I'll take a look at it today as I'll have it out on the water.

Greatly appreciated!!

"When the boat is warm, take o

"When the boat is warm, take off the flame arrestor (air filter lookn thing) and look at the top butterfly valve, it should be straight up and down to allow the most air in."

"Since the flame arrestor is c