Logo

43 steering difficulty

scrkw2000

Hello all - I'm new to thi

Hello all - I'm new to this forum and any help would be greatly appreciated. Just got a 1999 deck boat but it requires serious effort to steer. Turning the wheel cannot be done with one hand. Stopped or moving - makes no difference. There is power steering. Could steering cable cause this or should I start with the pump and assembly?

"With the boat out of the wate

"With the boat out of the water, disconnect the pin that holds the cable to the steering actuator behind the engine. (there are 2, just take out the the cable pin not the outdrive pin.) after pin removal turn the steering wheel. I f it is hard to turn replace cable. If not, then the problem is the drive or the actuator. I just had a problem where the cable and the actuator were bad. Good luck"

Thanks boatrep1 - I'll tr

Thanks boatrep1 - I'll try that this evening. If its not the cable is there a method to determine if the pump or acutator is causing the problem? If its the cable - are they repairable (lube??) or do they have to be replaced??

"Scott, The cables are not lub

"Scott, The cables are not lubeable, other than the ends. My Alpha I steering gets stiff where the SS cable end goes through the aluminum guide tube near the PS unit at the transom. Mercury makes special lube (101) just for this area. The lube is of a "toothpaste" consistancy. Hopefully this is your problem, and not the cable."

".."The cables are not lub

".."The cables are not lubeable"

Au contraire! (Obviously, you never manitained a motorcycle.)