Logo

2003 BF225A Sputtering

piraya33

Hello all. I am new to the for

Hello all. I am new to the forum. I have a 2003 Honda BF225A and I am having a sputtering problem where the engine sputters after getting up on plane and then it shuts off if I don't back down on the throttle quick enough. I searched the forum and found that I should replace the VST Screen. I went on boats.net and I found the following parts:

Fuel Filter - 16900-ZY3-003
Fuel Filter - 16911-ZY3-003
Honda Screen - 16911-ZY3-000

Are these the parts that I should be ordering? Is it ok to replace all of these filters at once? I am also going to change the fuel filters on the boat too. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I need to get my problem fixed so I can get back out on the water!

"depending on age of boat, I w

"depending on age of boat, I would go to the pickup tube in the tank. The screen in there can get clogged up over time. generally coincides with deflated primer bulb."

"that's not a very old boa

"that's not a very old boat, but as you troubleshoot fuel issues the pickup tube in the tank is the start/end of the line. there is an access hatch on the boat maybe under the center console. there you will see the flex line that enters the tank at a brass fitting. unhook the flex line then unscrew carefully the brass fitting. pull tube up out of the tank and visually inspect/clean. reinstall with pipe dope. this is a bit of a pain in the .. it's ok to do this last."

What does cleaning the VST con

What does cleaning the VST consist of? Is it just loosening the screw for the overflow tube and draining it or do I need to take the VST apart?

"I'm new to this forum as

"I'm new to this forum as well, and have also had the same problem at higher RPM (5000+)I'll try that advice too. Thanks.