Logo

1972 22b Reinell Cuddy Boat OMC 225 help%3cIMG SRC%3d%22httpwwwmarineenginecomdiscuscliparthappygif%22 ALT%3d%22%22 BORDER%3d0%3e

treemonkey

"Hello All,

Great forum! T

"Hello All,

Great forum! Thanks for being here!!

Let me start by saying I'm completely new to inboard/outboard boats other than browsing this forum (VERY informative). A few days ago I acquired a 1972 22' Reinell Cuddy Boat with an OMC 225 HP V8 (Model #990211 F) and the stern drive just says "225 HP" on it (Model #980310). Is this a Chevy 305? Are marine 305s and car 305s different?

Hull, interior, electrical, glass, etc. in great shape but seller said motor was 'seized'. Carb is missing and inside of intake manifold has rust everywhere. Strangely, there's a brand new set of exhaust manifolds installed. Stern drive has a crack in it. Almost scared me away when I saw the name of this boat...Money Pit. Is it true changing a boat's name is bad luck

I really like the boat and want to take on an engine rebuild or replacement project this Winter. What are my options for a low cost repair or replacement? I can wrench pretty good and have the means to pick the motor and such. Locally on craigslist there are tons of boats with crappy trailers/hulls/interiors but running motors that I can get for next to nothing right now but not seeing many over 200 HP and not sure what will work in my boat.

Any suggestions to get me in the water without spending huge money are much appreciated!"

"money pit pretty accurate...

"money pit pretty accurate...

There are few options for your situation but to continue to evaluate what you have. Taking an ice pick to the floor and transom looking for rotten wood is first. Books like "Runabout Restoration" and others may help you.