Logo

Water in oil help

tbone711

"Noticed some water in oil in

"Noticed some water in oil in my Mercuiser 3.0L. Changed oil and filter and ran boat to temp and noticed some very tiny bubbles coming from head area and oil started to get milky which I'm sure means water is getting in. I've been told head gasket or cracked block, is there a way to check for sure? Would cracked block be visible? Engine runs sound and oil and water temp are normal. Do the bubbles from head indicate a blown head gasket more so than a cracked block? How hard of a job is it to replace head gasket? I inherited the boat and my dad would winterize by draining engine and filling with a gallon of antifrezze, which seemed to work for him, is that enough? Sorry for all the questions but am quite concerned now as it looks like a bad start to boating season, and I have limited knowledge on subject. Thanks in advance for any advice!"

"I THINK I CAN HELP YOU AS I A

"I THINK I CAN HELP YOU AS I AM REPAIRING MY CRACKED BLOCK ALSO. I DONT THINK YOUR BLOCK IS CRACKED, IT SOUNDS LIKE JUST THE HEAD GASKET. YOUR DAD SOUNDED LIKE HE DID A GOOD JOB OF WINTERIZING BY GOING THE EXTRA STEP WITH THE ANTIFREEZE. CHANCES ARE ITS THE HEAD GASKET, TAKE THE HEAD OFF, AND IF THERE ARE CRACKS IN THE HEAD OR BLOCK ITSELF, YOU'LL SEE THEM AT THAT TIME. TAKE YOUR HEAD TO A MACHINE SHOP AND HAVE IT CHECKED FOR FLATNESS AND MACHINED IF NEEDED. IT COULD BE JUST WARPED ALSO. EITHER WAY YOU HAVE TO TAKE IT OFF, AND JUST GO FROM THERE."

"Sounds like a blown head gask