Logo

How fast

L

luke smith

i just put a new 4.3L in my 19

i just put a new 4.3L in my 1993 2252 bayliner runs great but any idea what the wot should be or how fast it should go. im getten 27 mph @4200rpm with a 17pitch ss prop seems a little slow . cant find specs on what the boat did new? any info would be great

prop sounds a little small but

prop sounds a little small but no sure what kinda bayliner you got. I have a 19.6 foot open bow and I run a 14.25 by 21 with a cupp and a 3.7L four cyclinder and it runs 4800 in the mid 40's

"You should be running ~ 4700

"You should be running ~ 4700 to 4800 rpms,

1. 4.3 in a 22 ft is a bit small so MPH will also be small.
2 Every pitch change is typically ~ 300 rpms change, example: your 17 gives 4200, go to a 15 p and you will get ~ 4500.

I am not that good with props but I believe what you need is a larger diameter to move more water.

The one you are using is (just a guess) 14 0r 14.25 diameter. You may need the next larger diameter.

That is a lot of boat for a 4.3 litre"

"I had a 2150 Bayliner cuddy w

"I had a 2150 Bayliner cuddy with the little 3.0 and it went 33 mph or so - you should be in the 30's...the weight question is valid...any soft spots in the floor, water logged flotation foam will slow you down"

"ahhhhhhhhhhh... here is the c

"ahhhhhhhhhhh... here is the cheat sheet i picked up here a while ago.....<center><table border=1><tr><td>http://www.marineengine.com/discus/icons/mime_msexcel.gif""" align=left alt=""application/vnd.ms-excel"">
[url=""][b]Copy of Boat_Speed_Finder-79780.xls[/b][/url] (22.5 k)</td></tr></table></center>"

"If you are only getting 4200

"If you are only getting 4200 RPM out of that setup and the engine is supposed to rev up to 4700 to 4800 RPMs, then the prop is TOO LARGE!
Changing from a 17Pitch to a 15 pitch will allow the engine to rev higher, but you may not end up with all that much more (or ANY) boat speed.