Logo

Ibm at a loss

S

Susan Barron

"I have a 5.0L V8 Mercruiser w

"I have a 5.0L V8 Mercruiser with the Alpha drive. The boat's a '94 Rinker 240, but the engine was replaced (not overhauled) in Jan 2007, so it only has about 20 hours on it. I'm VERY new to trying to fix engines on my own, but I'm trying to learn. I bought the Seloc and have done some adjustments that have gone pretty well. I'd previously adjusted the idle speed and idle mixture because she used to idle real, real high and then wouldn't ever come down even after she warmed up. Sometimes I'd literally have to slam into gear to get it down, and I'd often have a hard time getting it to start when it was cold, but thought it was maybe water in the gas, so I pretty much used dry gas every other weekend -- just lots of whacky stuff.

Recently ran the boat bone dry, (I'm starting to feel really self-conscious that I'm a boating idiot at this point), and it took quite a bit of work to get her back started. Tried gas direct in the carb at first, replaced the fuel filter, sprayed carb cleaner on it, then did jump starter spray, and put like 20 gallons in it with the spray, I did finally get it going and she was running great, until I went to the fuel dock about 20 minutes of running normal. Went to go into neutral at the dock, and she died. She would start up again, but not in neutral, at forward throtle out of gear, and heading towards neutral would die again.