Logo

Shifting trouble

2_left_feet

"Just replaced heads on 84 260

"Just replaced heads on 84 260 hp 350, and installed a new HEI distributor. Boat runs great, but when i put it in gear, either forward or reverse, I cannot shift back to neutral. I have to kill the engine in the neutral position then restart. I am new at mechanicing, and am having trouble figuring this one out."

"HEI? from a car?
sounds like

"HEI? from a car?
sounds like your shift interrupt system is not functional as it wouldn't be with a car distributor (I'm assuming). If it is a car distributor, what you have is dangerous for 2 reasons.
1. can't get it out of gear as you've discovered
2. No spark suppression in the distributor to prevent explosion of boat"

"Is there any way to make the

"Is there any way to make the shift interrupt system work with the distributor I currently have? I have removed the back seat and left the motor exposed, so I am not overly concerned with having an explosion "

"thank you bt doctur, your res

"thank you bt doctur, your response was quite helpful. wish all folks were more like you! All my problems have been solved!!!!"

Don;
Your original distributo

Don;
Your original distributor was hooked up to your interrupt switch so as to momentarily short out your coil when shifting out of gear. This is the only way to disengage the dog clutches that engage forward and reverse.
You will have to find a way to duplicate this action with your HEI ignition. I am not sure if the interupt switch will adversely affect your HEI system or not.
Perhaps you should contact the ignition manufacturer for advice.

Rod

"Thank you Rod,

I actually

"Thank you Rod,