Logo

Need bravo 1 expert assistance

kghost

Silver Medal Contributor
I am working on a Bravo 1 outd

I am working on a Bravo 1 outdrive and have a question for an experienced tech or someone with a great deal of experience.

Quick response would be greatly appriciated

Thanks

Jack

"Ayuh,....

If you Asked the

"Ayuh,....

If you Asked the Question,....

You just Might get some Answers....."

"I am replacing the upper gear

"I am replacing the upper gear set due to cone clutch failure. No issues with that.

Let me say That I have a lot of experience with alpha drives but due to my area there are not many bravo's and when i worked in the business I did not have any first hand experience with bravo's.

Anyway, While pulling the lower bearing race off the "chimmney" I did not have the special puller so I used a 2 jaw puller. My first attempt I screwed the puller screw down on the lower unit dirve shaft thru the "chimney".( outdrive was still assembled at this point) While turning the screw down to pull the jaws up the drive shaft went down.

My question, because I have never been into a bravo lower unit, is did I push the drive shaft down through the back to back tapered bearings that supportin in the lower? When I took the two halfs apart to investigate there is no retaining nut to keep the drive shaft in place like an Alpha. If so I will have to dissassemble the lower to reseat the bearings.

Well that is my question. Any advise would be appriciated."

No I did not get any responses

No I did not get any responses from anyone.

This is where I am at and feel free to give any advice....PLEASE!!

With the previous post I was looking for an answer as to why the puller shaft appeared to push down the lower unit drive shaft when trying to remove the "chimney" outer bearing race.