Logo

Overheat

sharp9700

"Hi Folks,
I’M new to this

"Hi Folks,
I’M new to this forum and at the same time, I have a big problem. Last week I had a severe over heating problem whit my 1988 merc 5.7 whit Alpha-one 1e gen.. The temp. Gage run at top. I shut of the engine right away. i.l make some test after cooling down, and a found that the engine over heat at low RPM an ru OK when I run somthing like 10 mph and more. I don’t try WOT....I was thinkig tha was my water pump was burn. I remove my lower unit to fix the problem, and I found a lot of thing bizzare. First, The upper part of the water pump is completely melted. The small pastic tube that connect the water pump end the copper tubing was melted to, But my impeller is in great shape, like a brand new (all of my Alpha-one (Sierra brand) is brand new from last summer. Is not normal. Yesterday night, I had a flash tha the only thing that can make that, is the hot exhaust. This morning, I look in my upper unit to find something wrong. I found a half piece of water shutter. I unassemble the exaust in the engine compartiment and found that my two water shutter is burn.

My real problem is WHAT HAPPENS TO MAKE THAT???? Is it possible that it was only the t-stat that grip or something else?
For sure, is not the water inlet cloging because my impeller is in good shape and before, i’d never had that king of problem.
Please help me, my holliday began last Friday, and the boat is in the driveway......

Phil"

"Phil:

Your thermostat may

"Phil:

Your thermostat may have stuck closed, the water shutters melted from hot exhaust and engine water and so did the water pump top. Change all of them including the old impeller. Remove the water pocket where the plastic and copper tube insert and check it for heat damage. Is the belt tight on the circulating pump on the front of the engine? Check all your hoses for kinks or bends."

"Thank Guy for fas answer,
I

"Thank Guy for fas answer,