Logo

Which drive is better

triniman

"I am new to outdrives, lived

"I am new to outdrives, lived with my engine hanging in the transom all my life.
I am looking to buy a bigger boat and I seem to be seeing a lot of boats in my price range with alpha 1 gen 1 drives, then some with volvo duo prop drives.
friends tell me that the aplha1gen1 are problematic, so i should look for the volvo. please advise. how reliable are the alpha1gen1 drives. I cant afford to get a boat and then have to buy 2 new otdrives. and i only seem to be seeing alpha1 gen 1 on these older boats. looking at boats around 27-29' twin engine."

"Alpha Ones were offered up ti

"Alpha Ones were offered up til 1990. Then the Alpha Gen II came along in 1991 and is still being manufactured.
The Gen II is actually just an update of the Alpha One; many parts are similar if not identical. They are not interchangeable however.

The Alpha One traces its roots back to the old model 1, R, and MR drives dating from the late 60's, so the basic design has been around a long time.
The reason you may be hearing Alpha Ones are problematic is that they are all getting to be 20 years + old now. Many need to be resealed, etc.
The good news is a company called SEI sells an exact copy bolt in replacement for about 1300 bucks if you have any trouble with them.

Before buying any outdrive boat drain a small amount of lube oil from the lower drain screw and look carefully at it and the magnet on the drain screw. Any large metal grindings means gear trouble; run like H3LL!

The lube oil should be a dark blueish green color and should not smell burnt. If it is milky colored at all this means water is leaking into the oil. Again this will need resealing, and may have already caused ger and bearing imminent failure. If it is gray and mushy looking, this means the gears are shot. See the paragraph just above for what to do.

Rod

Rod"

"Thanks Much Rod and Guy. actu