Logo

Carburetor issue

docmorg

"I am new to boats and just bo

"I am new to boats and just bought a 1995 Reinell with the 5.0 mercruiser and aplha one. I took it out last week and noticed that it did not have much power. It ran and sounded alright, but could not get it much past 30 MPH at full throttle. I took it home and thought it was a throttle cable issue. With the engine off, I noticed that I was getting full throttle, however; the small throttle plate was not opening until about 2/3 throttle. Also, when the throttle was wide open, the small throttle plate was only open about 1/3 at most. The rear large throttle plate was not moving at all.

Forgive my ignorance if my terminology is off. I am by no means knowledgeable with carburetors. I believe this is wrong, but am not sure. Does this sound right, if not can it be adjusted easily?

Thanks,
Steve"

It sounds like you have not en

It sounds like you have not enough throttle cable travel

Is there any adjustment on the throttle bellcrank arm on the carb whereby you can get more throttle action with the cable travel that you have?
Years ago I had to modify my old 898 in just this fashion so as to get full throttle.

There may be a series of holes on the throttle arm of your throttle quadrant. If so you can move the cable connector farther out to get more travel.

Rod

"Thanks Rod,

I took another

"Thanks Rod,

I took another look after reading your post. It appears that when I am full throttle, the throttle bell crank stop is hitting the stop plate. I think that someone has rebuilt the carburetor and possibly reassemble wrong. The rod assembly that opens the main plate to allow air in is not being activated at all when put in full throtte mode. I think I am going to have someone take a quick look at all the linkage to make sure it is assembled properly.

Thanks for the info, I am going to tinker with it some more.

Steve"

If its a Quadrajet there is a