Logo

1998 50L will not go over 2500rpms no power

97modman

"Hello All,

I have been re

"Hello All,

I have been reading some info on this forum and find it very useful. I just bought my first boat a 1998 Maxum 2300sc with 490hrs this week, its powerplant is 5.0L Mercruiser with an Alpha 1 gen 2 outdrive. I am very new to boating, so sorry if i sound a bit ignorant on certain things.
Well i took the boat out on the lake for the first time yesterday, after getting the temp up to 170 or so i figured it was warm enough to start giving it some throttle. when i go past 35% it has no power at all, the fastest it would go was about 7mph with full throttle. When i put in neutral it revved fine passed 4K it felt like it had alot of power. with it engaged it would bog down and turn off at times. I did noticed alot black smoke noticed it was running really rich. I took some pics of what it was leaving behind. The owner of the boat assured me that it was in excellent condition and there was nothing wrong with it. I spoke to him from the middle of the lake and he suggested that i clean out the carb and it should be fine.
i am going to just do a whole tune up i am going to buy the following:
Plugs
Oil change
clean the carb out
change all fluids
Any other suggestions? any help would be great..Thanks In Advance..
192668.jpg
"

"Welcome Rene:

Nice rich so

"Welcome Rene:

Nice rich soot trail on the water. Good evidence it is running too rich or you have bad gas that just won't burn.

"the fastest it would go was about 7mph with full throttle" What RPM was that 7 MPH? Could just be a slipping prop for that issue if the RPMs were above 2000.

"clean out the carb and it should be fine" That is a bold "it's your boat now so don't call me anymore statement". It may just be the choke is not opening up as the engine warms or the float and needle are off the setting and too much fuel is flooding the engine.