Logo

New here and to boating have a few questions

joey1117

hello all i just got my first

hello all i just got my first boat and im new to the boating world i have been on jet skis for a long time so the mechanical part is nothing new but the boat is a 17' sea sprite with a 140 mercruiser i/o my questions is can someone tell me some of the basic things i should check out like the oil/gear lube in the outdrive or just somethings to look out for and basice maint. this is the third boat i have owned in three weeks (bought all out of faith that the seller would not screw me ....was wrong)boat one was a bayliner jet boat had something wrong in the transmission nerver got it on the water sold it for half of what i paid for it boat two was a hydro-sport bass boat guy said needs a new floor so i spent count less hours putting in a new floor then put it in the water and at half throt. the motor almost came off ....transom was bad took it to a dealer to find out it was a 3000 repair sold the boat (told the buyer the problem) lost bad on that deal so now i have this boat took it to the water and everything seems ok but i would like to check things out before i put my family on it the guy i got it from said the boat was in really good running cond. and it never got above 145 deg. on the temp. let me know how to check the oil in the o/d please and anything else that may halp a new guy out. almost thinking i was not ment to own a boat ;)

"Welcome Joe:

I am in Hamil

"Welcome Joe:

I am in Hamilton, OH. You know that we have courts in Ohio for just what has happened to you.

Get boat insurance for the STATED VALUE and not the BOOK VALUE of the boat. If you paid $5,000 for it, insure it for BOOK VALUE and the NADA book says it's only worth $2,500, that's what you'll get if it's a total loss. If it's insured for the STATED VALUE, you'll get that minus any deductible. Split the value of the boat and trailer at 90% boat and 10% trailer if it's 10+ years old.