Logo

Just bought a BMW powered boat need advice please

aquarookie

"Hi all,

I just bought a 21

"Hi all,

I just bought a 21' 1972 Fiberform cuddy cabin with a B190 engine. I don't know whether the outdrive is a MK1 or 2 yet. The boat has sat for 10 years (I know, that's not so good) but the previous owner has started it up for me (with a little tinkering and starting fluid) and it does go into gear. I would like to flush all fluids but I have no repair manual yet. What kind of engine oil should I use? Coolant? Stern drive fluid? (I have heard it's ATF, but what kind?).

Also, what should I check (drivetrain-wise) before the boat goes into the water? I know water should not get into the u-joints, and also it does have a rather deep growl which seems to be coming from between the engine and outdrive (bearing?), but I have not ran it long enough to really check it out (I want to change the fluids first).

Thanks in advance for any advice, I am a boat rookie
smile.gif
"

"hi julia
i dont kno

"hi julia
i dont know no a great deal about boats