Logo

Mercruiser 43 liter replacement

liberty

"Hi guys,
Looks like this is

"Hi guys,
Looks like this is really helpful forum.
I'm thinking to buy deck boat with "Mercruiser 4.3 liter 6 cylinder Chevrolet". Current owner told me the engine doesn't work: "A hole developed in the manifold. When I ran the boat it sucked water into the engine and the excess pressure caused a valve spring to break causing further damage". Probably the engine has to be rebuild or replaced.
What is the best approach? Where can I get replacement and how much does it cost?
I'm used to rebuild jetski engines and have some experience with car engines but this is my first time with inboard engines. Thanks for your help!"

"Get the water out now if you

"Get the water out now if you are going to rebuild it! What year is the engine? If it is not a Vortec then I wouldn't bother rebuilding it. Buy a complete new or reman. longblock and add your components to it. Or, better yet, buy a complete "drop-in" engine for about $4,500. Everything is new and you don't have to fool around trying to change over old parts to the new block. I'll send you some emails on engines."

"The boat is 2001 so I think t

"The boat is 2001 so I think the engine is the same year.
Quick newbie question - what is Vortec, what is longblock and what is Alpha and Beta?
Thanks."

"Vortec is the newer style GM

"Vortec is the newer style GM small block heads. They breath much better than the previous style.
Alpha One is the drive; it should have a decal on it so stating. Yours will be a Gen II, which has been in continuous production since 1991. It should be a 1.81 ratio (stamped on the decal, top port side of the drive.)